Virginia State Seal

Virginia Department of Historic Resources

List of CLGs in Virginia

The following communities have strengthened and expanded their local preservation programs through participation in the Certified Local Government program. In Virginia the program is jointly administered by the National Park Service (NPS) and the Virginia Department of Historic Resources (the State Historic Preservation Office).

The communities below are active partners in the Federal Historic Preservation Program and the opportunities it provides. These include access to the expert preservation and technical advice of DHR as well as the NPS. Partnerships with the National Alliance of Preservation Commissions, the National Trust for Historic Preservation, and the National Main Street Center are also networks that CLGs have an opportunity to tap. Of course, another benefit is access through DHR to Federal funds set aside annually for CLGs.

Also, Virginia CLGs receive a free license to access V-CRIS and training in using this state-of-the-art GIS database of historic resources.

These CLGs show a community commitment to keeping what is significant from the past for future generations. As a certified town, city, or county seeking other opportunities, it becomes easy to demonstrate a readiness to take on a preservation project and be successful.

Abingdon (Town)
Alexandria (City)
Arlington County
Blacksburg (Town)
Cape Charles (Town)
Charlottesville (City)
Clarke County
Culpeper (Town)
Danville (City)
Fairfax (City)
Fairfax County
Fredericksburg (City)
Hanover County
Herndon (Town)
Leesburg (Town)
Lexington (Town)
Loudoun County
Lynchburg (City)
Manassas (City)
Middleburg (Town)
Norfolk (City)
Petersburg (City)
Prince William County
Pulaski (Town)
Richmond (City)
Roanoke (City)
Smithfield (Town)
Spotsylvania County
Stafford County
Staunton (City)
Stephens City (Town)
Suffolk (City)
Virginia Beach (City)
Warrenton (Town)
Williamsburg (City)
Winchester (City)

Updated January 4, 2019