The picturesque stone-arched Broad Run Bridge was destroyed by tropical storm Agnes in 1972. The storm, however, spared the accompanying stone tollhouse, possibly the state’s only extant bridge tollhouse of the period. The bridge and tollhouse were part of the Leesburg Turnpike system incorporated in 1809 to connect Leesburg with Alexandria. Construction of the project went slowly; the bridge over Broad Run in Loudoun County was not completed until 1820. Tolls ceased to be collected by the Civil War, and the bridge was abandoned in 1949 for a larger one to accommodate modern State Route 7 immediately parallel. At the west end of the ruined bridge, of which only the abutments now remain, the tollhouse currently serves as a private residence.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark