The Francis-Gulick Mill archeological site in Loudoun County is situated on the floodplain at the confluence of a small tributary with Goose Creek. The site is comprised of a miller’s stone house foundation, the remnants of a mill foundation, both built as early as the late 18th century, and a third structure of unknown function. The mill and miller’s house were in use at least by the second decade of the 19th century. The mill appears to have been abandoned by 1879, while the house was abandoned in the 1880s. The site also includes the millrace and two millstones lying next to the house foundations. Reverend Amos Thompson is thought to have established the mill after 1776, but the mill takes its name from two later owners, Enoch Francis, owner from 1817 to the 1830s, and James Gulick, owner from 1850 to the 1860s. Since many mill sites along Goose Creek are in poor condition or have been destroyed, the Francis-Gulick Mill offers a unique opportunity to explore and expand our knowledge of 19th-century mills in this region.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark