Twin Oaks Farm, sited in Bedford County on the western slope of the Blue Ridge Mountains with a stunning view of the Peaks of Otter, includes an architecturally significant farmhouse constructed and modified in an unusual series of vernacular and Gothic Revival campaigns from around 1850 to the early 20th century. Twin Oaks Farm is also locally significant because of its association with four generations of Hatcher family agricultural activity, with cannery production from 1909 to 1937, and because of its pre-World War II function as a center for rural peacekeeping and community services under the patronage of Bedford County deputy sheriff Watson Calvin “Buddy” Hatcher.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark