Framed by its brown sandstone chimneys, the picturesque Dranesville Tavern is a relic of the days when teamsters and travelers used the Leesburg Turnpike on trips through Fairfax County to and from Alexandria, Leesburg, and Winchester. Dating to 1823, the Dranesville Tavern was built in three log sections connected by “dog trots,” since enclosed with weatherboards. The building survived the Civil War years and the nearby 1862 Battle of Dranesville, and came to serve principally as a wagon stand for teamsters. In 1968, the Fairfax County Park Authority acquired the property and moved the building about 100 feet back from its original site to accommodate the widening of the Leesburg Turnpike (Route 7). Dranesville Tavern was later restored and operated as a historic property rental facility.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark