Emmanuel Church is a Gothic Revival-style church built between 1859 and 1860. It is attributed to architect Clifton A. Hall (1826-1913) of C. G. Hall & Son of Providence, Rhode Island. Hall was also the architect of the 1864-1865 Trinity Methodist Church in Providence, which bears an unmistakable resemblance to Emmanuel Church. Both churches, which feature broad facades under high steep roofs and corner towers with spires, reflect the influence of Richard Upjohn, A. W. N. Pugin, and other Gothicists. The Stewarts, generous philanthropists, fostered the building and outfitting of the church located on land they donated across the road from their Italianate mansion, Brook Hill. On the interior, Emmanuel is finished with a scissors-truss roof, handsome wood and metal work, and an interesting collection of both stained- and painted-glass windows. The church is surrounded by a picturesque cemetery containing a broad range of monuments and noble trees.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark