Virginia State Seal

Virginia Department of Historic Resources

053-0114 Aldie Mill Historic District

Aldie Mill Historic District
*Click on image to enlarge.

For additional information, read the Nomination Form PDF

VLR Listing Date 06/02/1970

NRHP Listing Date 09/15/1970

NPS property number 70000806

Charles Fenton Mercer, military officer, legislator, and advocate of the colonization of blacks, settled here in 1804. He named his property for Aldie Castle, his Scottish ancestral home. The large merchant mill, constructed in 1807 by Mercer’s partner William Cooke, survives as one of the best outfitted early mills in the state. The three part complex includes what was a plaster mill at one end and a store at the other. The mill’s twin overshot Fitz wheels, installed in 1900, are a unique surviving pair in Virginia. Overlooking the mill is a large Federal house, built by Mercer in 1810 as his residence. Behind the mill is the miller’s house. Completing the grouping is an early stone bridge across Little River. The mill operated into the 1970s when it was donated to the Virginia Outdoors Foundation which has since undertaken an extensive restoration.


Abbreviations:
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark

Updated April 4, 2018