Located north of the town of Purcellville in Loudoun County, the Amos Goodin House was constructed around 1810. The house is locally important as an excellent example of the “Loudoun Stuga” (stuga means “cabin”), a local vernacular adaptation of the Swedish Mora Stuga design. The Swedish house form was brought to Loudoun from Pennsylvania by Quakers, Germans, and Scots-Irish who adapted it in settling in the area. In this way, the Amos Goodin House embodies a transitional era of architecture for the region, and exhibits a building style and plan commonly used for a number of years in the late 1700s and early 1800s in Loudoun. The house features centrally placed hall doors in a single room, two fireplaces on each end of the structure, and twister stairs. Its functional architecture showcases the use of fieldstone that is coursed up like drywall, with interstices “pointed up” with lime to keep out the weather. The Loudoun Stuga house form was practical for frontier life and was reproduced with an economy of skill. The Amos Goodin House and secondary buildings on the property reveal the evolution of local, rustic home design, with use of traditional tools and methods of construction.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark