The Barnard Farm, with its diverse cultural resources, illustrates architectural and historical trends spanning nearly two centuries of development. Isham and Sally Barnard established the farm in the early 19th century in the Kibler Valley of Patrick County at the point where the upper Dan River emerges from the Blue Ridge mountains. The Barnards’ farmhouse was a two-story log dwelling, possibly built in 1829, that was enlarged and remodeled in the Greek Revival style in the mid-19th century, and again in the Craftsman style in the 1930s. The interior features vibrant wood graining and a marbled mantel. Descendants of Isham and Sally, principally their grandson, James W. Barnard (a state legislator), and great-grandson, William Barnard, added farm buildings and log and frame tenant houses to the property. Other resources include the small Kibler Post Office, the 1950s Barnard’s Store, and the Barnard Cemetery, which contains grave markers ranging from fieldstones to a locally crafted soapstone headstone and to professionally carved marble and granite monuments.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark