For additional information, read the Nomination Form PDF
See link(s) below to view additional documentation.
VLR Listing Date 12/13/1988
NRHP Listing Date 10/30/1989
DHR's Virginia Board of Historic Resources easement
NRHP Reference Number 89001797; 03001434
Overlooking what is yet a rural landscape in this rapidly developing region, Pilgrim’s Rest is a reminder of the rich heritage of 18th-century architecture remaining in Prince William County. The house was built ca. 1790 for Henry Dade Hooe, around the time of his marriage to Jane Fitzhugh. Particularly noteworthy is the massive chimney structure, consisting of two exterior stacks joined by two levels of pent closets. Such chimneys were indigenous features of the county’s Federal-period houses, but only a handful remain. The body of the house is a typical side-passage frame dwelling. The exterior flush-board siding, installed in a 1955 restoration, is a replacement of deteriorated original siding. The interior of Pilgrim’s Rest preserves much original woodwork including paneled mantels and wainscoting. An unusual aspect of the plan is the concealed stair rising between walls rather than in the passage.
An increase of the register boundaries for the tract was accepted in 2003-2004 after the purchase of four tracts of land that were historically associated with the property by the owners of Pilgrim’s Rest.
[VLR Listed: 9/10/2003; NRHP Listed: 1/16/2004]
2004 Boundary Increase nomination
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark
Updated: February 13, 2023