The Scott-Hutton Farm nestles in the Sugar Creek valley of western Rockbridge County. An early stone springhouse, a timber-frame bank barn, and other buildings cluster around a Greek Revival farmhouse with an original log section. The log house was the home of William and Ann Scott, who owned the property from 1802 to 1830, although it is possible the log house was built by an earlier owner. Major James C. Hutton, a mill owner and millwright, acquired the property in 1843 and enlarged the log house with frame additions. Heavy Greek Revival mantels and vibrant oak graining on doors and trim are among the Scott-Hutton Farmhouse’s notable interior features.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark