Jamestown Exposition Buildings

Norfolk (Ind. City)

VLR Listing Date


NRHP Listing Date


NHL Listing Date


NRHP Reference Number


The seventeen remaining buildings of the 1907 Jamestown Exposition form a unique collection of early exposition pavilions. Erected for the celebration of the tricentennial of the founding of the first permanent English settlement in the New World, the complex originally contained twenty state pavilions, a history pavilion, an auditorium, and other structures. Among those remaining are the Pennsylvania pavilion, a copy of Independence Hall; the Maryland pavilion, a copy of Homewood; and the Ohio pavilion, a copy of Adena. Unable to agree on what historic building to copy for Virginia, the Commonwealth built a standard Georgian Revival mansion. The complex was purchased by the federal government in 1917, and the site was made into a naval base and naval air station. Most of the pavilions have since been converted to officers’ quarters, and today they are known collectively as Admiral’s Row.

Last Updated: June 2, 2023

Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.

VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark

For additional information Read

Nomination Form

More Listings In Norfolk (Ind. City)


Downtown Norfolk Financial Historic District

Norfolk (Ind. City)


Cruser Place Historic District

Norfolk (Ind. City)


J. Eugene Diggs Residence

Norfolk (Ind. City)