The 105-acre landscaped Forest Hill Park has been a part of the city 0f Richmond’s park system since 1934. It exhibits a variety of wild natural areas and wetlands in addition to manicured landscapes. Holden Rhodes, a farmer, lawyer, and businessman, owned the property from 1836 to 1857 and built a picturesque stone house (pictured above) that is now used as a meeting place. Eventually the Rhodes estate became a public park and the terminus of one of Richmond’s trolley lines. An amusement park was developed with a bandstand, merry-go-round, enchanted house, bowling alley, dancing pavilion, roller coaster, and a penny arcade in the Rhodes house. Around the park, several neighborhoods grew up—true “trolley suburbs.” In 1934, the city acquired the park and transformed it for picnicking and community uses.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark