Located along Knotts Creek and the Nansemond River in northern Suffolk, the Ames-Old Farm exemplifies the typical home of a yeoman farmer in Virginia’s Tidewater region in the early 19th century. In addition to the farm’s original, two-and-a-half-story main house, which was built in 1815 in the Federal architectural style, the property also encompasses six agricultural outbuildings, all of which were built in the mid- to late-19th century and early-20th century. In around 1875 the house was expanded to include a dining room and kitchen, marking the first phase of modifications, before additional rooms were added in 1965 and a garage in 1985. The Ames-Old Farm’s evolution reflects its owners’ efforts to accommodate shifting domestic and agricultural needs at the turn of the 20th century.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
Abbreviations:
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark