A picturesque mix of vernacular forms, High Meadows has long been an architectural reference point on the former Staunton and James River Turnpike, just north of Scottsville in the Southern Albemarle Rural Historic District. The earlier brick section of the two-part dwelling was constructed in 1831-32 by Peter White, who surveyed Scottsville and was also a farmer. White’s 1853 taxes also list him as the owner of seven enslaved individuals. Around 1883, Charles B. Harris, a Scottsville merchant, added a two-story brick section with Italianate cornice and cross-gable roof. The two sections are joined by an unusual longitudinal passage rather than the more traditional hyphen. The older section preserves original paint and the newer section has original grained woodwork. The house at High Meadows was restored in 1985 for use as a country inn.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark