For additional information, read the Nomination Form PDF
See link(s) below to view additional documentation.
VLR Listing Date 05/13/1969
NRHP Listing Date 11/12/1969
NHL Listing Date 07/05/1991
NRHP Reference Number 69000282
This cruciform-plan church is one of the nation’s outstanding examples of colonial ecclesiastical architecture. Although built to serve a rural parish, the design is endowed with urbanity and sophistication. The brick walls are highlighted by quoins and rusticated doorways crafted in stone from nearby Aquia Creek. Built on a site used for worship as early as 1654, the present building was begun in 1751 but burned on February 17, 1754, three days before completion. It was rebuilt within the walls in 1754-57 under the direction of Mourning Richards, the original contractor, and William Copein, the mason. The interior preserves a unique three-tiered pulpit as well as the original Ionic altarpiece, west gallery, and box pews, all excellent examples of colonial joinery. The pews, however, were reduced in height in the 19th century. The church’s former isolated setting has given way in recent years to suburban development.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark
Updated March 22, 2019