For additional information, read the Nomination Form PDF
NPS property number 05000481
The Grahams Forge Mill is one of the outstanding late 19th-century architectural gems of southwest Virginia. Although utilitarian in function, it is nevertheless a stunning site of rustic beauty: a five-story building on a stone foundation, with a flaking whitewashed, weathered, gray wood exterior; original windows and doors with stylish surrounds and proportionally correct dormers; a paneled frieze below broad eaves; a rusting silver tin roof; and a wonderful little cupola with star motif and decorative cresting. The mill and its compliment of outbuildings possess outstanding architectural integrity, and many of the mill’s workings remain in place inside the structures. The current mill, constructed ca. 1890 and operated until 1934, was the third one to occupy the site. Its predecessors were the former Graham’s Forge that featured a furnace, iron rolling mill, and nailfactory, and the earlier Crockett Forge, which was established in 1796. The site is named for David Graham, who acquired the forge in 1826 and later left it to his son, Major David P. Graham.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark
Updated April 4, 2018