For additional information, read the Nomination Form PDF
NPS property number 04000857
Richmond architect Charles M. Robinson designed the Matthew Whaley School, completed in 1930, in a restrained adaptation of his favored Georgian Revival style. Located at the end of Nassau Street, adjacent to the reconstructed Governor’s Palace, this monumental school building quickly became a local landmark of considerable architectural importance. The U-shaped building is the third in a series of Williamsburg schools named in memory of Matthew Whaley (1696–1705). The exterior boasts fine Flemish-bond brickwork with glazed headers trimmed with a modillion cornice, molded door and window surrounds, and a hipped slate roof pierced by gables, and topped with a pair of glazed cupolas. Its well-detailed exterior and interiors have been carefully preserved with little alteration while being updated with unusual concern for architectural integrity.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark
Updated April 4, 2018