Southwest No. 5 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia

VLR Listing Date


NRHP Listing Date


NRHP Reference Number


Southwest No. 5 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia is located among hardwood trees on flat ground twenty feet north of Walter Reed Drive on the boundary between Arlington County and the city of Alexandria. Originally placed in a valley near the east bank of a creek on the north side of Leesburg Pike (Route 7) , the SW No. 5 Mile Marker was moved roughly 45 feet to its present location due to regrading of Route 7. The Aquia sandstone is broken off approximately one foot from the ground. The Southwest No. 5 Boundary Marker was listed under the Multiple Property Document (MPD) form for the Boundary Markers of the Original District of Columbia.

Last Updated: August 14, 2023

Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.

VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark

For additional information Read

Nomination Form


Bank of Potomac/Executive Office and Governor’s Residence of the Restored Government of Virginia

Alexandria (Ind. City)


St. Paul’s Episcopal Church Cemetery

Alexandria (Ind. City)


Lyndon Baines Johnson Memorial Grove on the Potomac

Arlington (County)