Virginia State Seal

Virginia Department of Historic Resources

002-0186 Cocke's Mill And Miller's House

Cocke's Mill And Miller's House
*Click on image to enlarge.

For additional information, read the Nomination Form PDF

VLR Listing Date 08/15/1989

NRHP Listing Date 12/06/1990

NPS property number 90001828

The ruins of Cocke’s Mill and the associated miller’s house are located against a steep wooded hill next to the splashing Hardware River. The original complex was established in the 1790s by James Powell Cocke of Edgemont. The date of the miller’s house is uncertain but was probably built soon after the mill. The picturesque vernacular structure is one of only a handful of early miller’s residences in the region and Albemarle County’s only two-story stone miller’s house. Cocke’s Mill was known as Johnston’s Mill after 1880 and remained in commercial operation in the 1930s. The neglected structure apparently burned in the 1940s, leaving its stone foundations, dam, mill race, and cut stone arches, all giving a hint of the building’s scale and fine construction. The miller’s house is now a private residence.


Abbreviations:
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark

Updated April 4, 2018