The Appomattox River Bridge is a unique example of a type of concrete bridge constructed in Virginia from around 1910 until the 1960s. Built in 1930, the two-lane bridge carries Route 24 across the Appomattox River in the Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. Despite widening in 1971, the bridge retains a high degree of historic integrity with its original cast-in-place rails that incorporate stylized representations of the Confederate battle flag and the Union shield of stars-and-stripes. The concrete obelisks and end posts at the bridge’s four corners were recast to replicate the originals when the span was widened. The design of the bridge is attributed to William Roy Glidden, Virginia’s first state bridge engineer.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark