Virginia State Seal

Virginia Department of Historic Resources

081-0201 Tankersley Tavern

Tankersley Tavern
*Click on image to enlarge.

For additional information, read the Nomination Form PDF

VLR Listing Date 04/21/1987

NRHP Listing Date 11/03/1988

NPS property number 88002179

Nestled against a hillside just across the Maury River from Lexington, this visually engaging structure, with its two-level gallery, is a rare surviving example of a building associated with the region’s early transportation system. It was built in 1835 as a toll house at end of the bridge carrying the Valley Turnpike into Lexington. It eventually became a combined canal ticket office, general store, post office, and tavern. The original core was constructed by Col. John Jordan, one of Rockbridge County’s most active builders and entrepreneurs, whose residence, Stono, stands atop a steep hill across the river. In 1886 the property was purchased by the Tankersley family and was run as a colorful tavern for many years, enhanced by the fact that the Tankersleys manufactured and dispensed their own rye whiskey. The building has since been restored as a private residence.


Abbreviations:
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark

Updated April 4, 2018