In a secluded valley in the Linville Creek area of Rockingham County, the John K. Beery Farm complex is one of the most complete early rural homesteads in the region. The grouping, which boasts nearly a dozen farm structures, includes a stone dwelling house, well house, kitchen/wash house, and a rare stone barn with slotted ends. Beery, a descendant of Swiss immigrants who settled in Pennsylvania, established the complex over the period 1819-1839. A strict Mennonite who opposed the use of churches, Beery for many years held services for the local congregation in the east wing of his house. The barn was burned in the Civil War but was rebuilt within the stone walls. Abandoned for almost two decades, the John K. Beery Farm was carefully restored between 1974 and 1977.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark