The Chapel of the Centurion, located at Fort Monroe in the city of Hampton, was the Army’s oldest wooden structure in continuous use for religious services at the time of its listing. Consecrated May 3, 1858, the building is an adaptation of a small mission church designed by Richard Upjohn and published in his book Rural Architecture. The chapel features stained-glass windows designed by famous artisans such as Louis C. Tiffany, J.& R. Lamb Studios, R. Geissler, and the John Bolton School. The windows of the Chapel of the Centurion memorialize both individuals and events in U.S. military history as well as showcase a 100-year history of stained-glass practice and design.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark