The Boude-Deaver House in the Lexington Historic District is a sophisticated Gothic Revival house with many noteworthy features. The two-story brick house was built for Rockbridge County Clerk John C. Boude and his wife, Musadora A. Boude, in 1874. The property was acquired by Charles R. Deaver in 1907 and by Nell Loving Deaver in 1948. By 1969 the house had been converted to three apartments. That year it was acquired by Arthur B. Scharff, a professor of French, Italian, and comparative literature at Washington and Lee University. Scharff rehabilitated the house in 1970-71 and moved in with his family. The house features bargeboards with oversized cusped trefoil cutouts, a rare if not unique Gothic Revival treatment, and the gable/mansard roof shows Second Empire influence. Interior features include a curved stair, original mantels, ornate coal grates, and richly ornamented plaster ceiling medallions. The Boude-Deaver House property includes a two-story brick dependency dating to the late 19th century that prior to the early 1970’s rehabilitation had been attached to the rear of the main house.
Many properties listed in the registers are private dwellings and are not open to the public, however many are visible from the public right-of-way. Please be respectful of owner privacy.
VLR: Virginia Landmarks Register
NPS: National Park Service
NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
NHL: National Historic Landmark