Rock Hill

Reflecting the influence of traditional building forms of the German settlers from Pennsylvania who migrated to the Shenandoah Valley, Rock Hill in Frederick County was constructed around 1780 by or […]


A two-story residence, constructed around 1820 of brick, laid in Flemish bond on the facade, Springdale represents a locally important example of a well-preserved Federal-style house. The Springdale property also […]

Thorndale Farm

Thorndale Farm, near Middletown in Frederick County, includes a house with a central-chimney portion dating to the 1790s. A Greek Revival-style main block was added to the original house around […]


Millbank is one of the few remaining antebellum buildings in an area affiliated with the Third Battle of Winchester, which occurred September 19-23, 1864. Situated at the time of its […]


Cleridge, in Clarke and Frederick counties, is a ca. 1790 Federal-style dwelling believed to be the earliest brick house in Frederick County. The property boasts an important agricultural legacy beginning […]

High Banks

High Banks, in Frederick County, was constructed circa 1753 of local limestone by Thomas and Margaret Helm. The well-preserved two-story Georgian-style residence combines an English house plan with Germanic building […]

Old Forge Farm

Old Forge Farm is the site of Isaac Zane’s late-18th-century ironworks, the largest industrial operation in the Shenandoah Valley, which employed more than 100 persons to cast and forge pots, […]

Opequon Historic District

The Opequon Historic District encompasses a mid-18th-century crossroads village surrounded by farm country in central Frederick County. Situated along a principal colonial road known today as Cedar Creek Grade, the […]


Homespun is located in central Frederick County on the outskirts of Winchester. The two-story dwelling was built in two parts: a log section dating from the mid-1790s for local merchant […]

Old Stone Church

Old Stone Church, situated in the Green Springs vicinity of northern Frederick County, was originally constructed in 1820, but was rebuilt after a fire damaged the building in 1838. The […]